Faculty & Academic Staff

All Academic and Support Staff are located on the 6th and 7th floors of the Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering

Simaan Abourizk
Professor, Construction Engineering
NSERC Industrial Research Chair
Room: 7-232 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 8096
Email: abourizk@ualberta.ca

Samer Adeeb
Associate Professor, Structural Engineering & Biomedical Engineering
Interim Department Chair
Room: 7-224 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2190
Email: adeeb@ualberta.ca

Mohamed Al-Hussein
Professor, Construction Engineering
Room: 7-295 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 0599
Email: malhussein@ualberta.ca

Derek Apel
Professor, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-233 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 3379
Email: derek.apel@ualberta.ca  

Hooman Askari-Nasab
Associate Professor, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-237 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 4053
Email: hooman@ualberta.ca  

Tayfun Babadagli
Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 7-277 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9626
Email: tayfun@ualberta.ca  

Alireza Bayat  
Associate Professor, Geotechnical, Construction, Transportation Engineering
Room: 7-243 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 5112
Email: abayat@ualberta.ca

Nicholas Beier
Assistant Professor, GeoEnvironmental Engineering
Room: 6-215 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 8183
Email: nabeier@ualberta.ca

Vivek Bindiganavile
Associate Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 7-281 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9661
Email: vivek@ualberta.ca

Jeff Boisvert
Associate Professor, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-241 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6157
Email: jbb@ualberta.ca

Yaman Boluk
Professor, Materials Engineering
Room: 7-273 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6295
Email: yaman.boluk@ualberta.ca

Doug Booth
Facility Service Officer, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-239 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 7392
Email: doug.booth@ualberta.ca

Ian Buchanan
Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 7-271 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 0244
Email: ian.buchanan@ualberta.ca

Rick Chalaturnyk
Professor, Geotechnical Engineering
Room: 6-222 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9992
Email: rjchalaturnyk@ualberta.ca

Dave Chan
Professor, Geotechnical Engineering
Associate Chair, Graduate Studies
Room: 7-233 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 4725
Email: dave.chan@ualberta.ca

Yuxiang Chen
Assistant Professor, Construction Engineering
Nasseri School of Building Science and Engineering
Room: 6-257, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 4562
Email: yuxiang.chen@ualberta.ca

J.J. Roger Cheng
Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 7-306, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2992
Email: roger.cheng@ualberta.ca

Ying Hei Chui
Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 7-304 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 248 1176
Email: yhc@ualberta.ca

Carlos Cruz Noguez
Assistant Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 7-306, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2794
Email: cruznogu@ualberta.ca

Evan Davies
Associate Professor, Water Resources Engineering
Room: 7-261, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 5134
Email: evan.davies@ualberta.ca

Hassan Dehghanpour
Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-279, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 8504
Email: dehghanpour@ualberta.ca

Lijun Deng
Assistant Professor, Geotechnical Engineering
Room: 6-261, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6210
Email: ldeng@ualberta.ca

Clayton Deutsch
Professor, Mining Engineering
Director of School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-232, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9916
Email: cdeutsch@ualberta.ca

Bipro R. Dhar
Assistant Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 6-277, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 248 1923
Email: bipro@ualberta.ca

Robert Driver
Professor, Structural Engineering
Room:7-279, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 0091
Email: rdriver@ualberta.ca

Karim El-Basyouny
Associate Professor, Transportation Engineering
City of Edmonton's Assistant Professor Urban Traffic Safety Research Chair
Room: 6-265, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9564
Email: basyouny@ualberta.ca

Marwan El-Rich
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Room: 7-255, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6678
Email: elrich@ualberta.ca

Mohamed Gamal El-Din
Professor, Environmental Engineering
NSERC Senior Industrial Research Chair in Oil Sands Tailings Water Treatment
Helmholtz - Alberta Initiative Lead (Theme 5)
Room: 7-285, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492-5124
Email: mgamalel-din@ualberta.ca

Thian Gan
Professor, Water Resources Engineering
Room: 7-230, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9376
Email: tgan@ualberta.ca 

Selma Guigard
Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 7-237, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 8585
Email: selma.guigard@ualberta.ca

Mustafa Gul 
Associate Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 7-257, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 3002
Email: mustafa.gul@ualberta.ca

Robert Hall
Professor, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-235, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 8088
Email: rhall1@ualberta.ca

Leila Hashemian
Assistant Professor
Room: 7-308, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering 
Phone: 780 492 8934 
Email: hashemia@ualberta.ca

Zaher Hashisho
Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 7-241, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 0247
Email: hashisho@ualberta.ca

Michael Hendry
Assistant Professor, Geotechnical Engineering
Room: 6-226, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 0200
Email: hendry@ualberta.ca

Ali Imanpour
Assistant Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 6-306, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 248 1913
Email: imanpour@ualberta.ca

Zhehui (Charlie) Jin
Assistant Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-304, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6633
Email: zhehui2@ualberta.ca

Tim Joseph
Professor, Mining Engineering
Associate Dean, Student & Co-op Services
Room: 9-201, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 3810
Email: tim.joseph@ualberta.ca

Amy Kim
Associate Professor, Transportation Engineering
Room: 6-269, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9203
Email: amy.kim@ualberta.ca

Ergun Kuru
Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-287, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2025
Email: ekuru@ualberta.ca

Tae J. Kwon
Assistant Professor, Transportation Engineering
Room: 6-281, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6121
Email: tjkwon@ualberta.ca

Juliana Leung
Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-285, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 3338
Email: juliana2@ualberta.ca

Mark Loewen
Professor, Water Resources Engineering
Room: 7-289, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 3447
Email: mrloewen@ualberta.ca

Yong Li
Assistant Professor, Structural Engineering
Room: 6-259 Donadeo Inovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2722
Email: yong9@ualberta.ca

Ming Lu
Professor, Construction Engineering
Room: 6-293, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 5110
Email: mlu6@ualberta.ca

Huazhou Li (Andy)
Assistant Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-273, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 1738
Email: huazhou@ualberta.ca

Yang Liu
Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 7-263, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 5115
Email: yang.liu@ualberta.ca  

Wei Victor Liu
Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-263, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 248 5649
Email: victor.liu@ualberta.ca

Nobuo Maeda 
Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering 
Room: 6-245, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering 
Phone: 780 492 6524 
Email: nobuo@ualberta.ca

Derek Martin
Professor, Geotechnical Engineering
Room: 6-224, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2332
Email: derek.martin@ualberta.ca  

Daryl McCartney
Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 7-235, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 4738
Email: daryl.mccartney@ualberta.ca

Yasser Mohamed
Professor, Construction Engineering
Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies
Room: 7-269, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 1321
Email: yasser.mohamed@ualberta.ca

Alireza Nouri
Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-295, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9660
Email: anouri@ualberta.ca

Yashar Pourrahimian
Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
Room: 6-243, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 5144
Email: yashar.pourrahimian@ualberta.ca

Zhi-Jun (Tony) Qiu
Assistant Professor, Transportation Engineering
Room: 6-271, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 1906
Email: zhijunqiu@ualberta.ca

Aminah Robinson Fayek
Professor, Construction Engineering
Room: 7-287, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 1205
Email: aminah.robinson@ualberta.ca

Yuntong She
Assistant Professor, Water Resources Engineering
Room:7-259, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 9375
Email: yshe@ualberta.ca

Douglas Tomlinson
Assistant Professor, Structural Engineering
Room:6-255, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6966
Email: dtomlins@ualberta.ca

Japan Trivedi
Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Room: 6-289, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 1247
Email: jtrivedi@ualberta.ca

Ania Ulrich
Professor, Environmental/Geotechnical Engineering
Room: 7-265, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 8293
Email: aulrich@ualberta.ca

Tong Yu
Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering
Room: 7-239, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 6307
Email: tong.yu@ualberta.ca

Ward Wilson
Professor, Geotechnical Engineering
Room: 6-230, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 2534
Email: ward.wilson@ualberta.ca

David Zhu
Professor, Water Resources Engineering
Room: 7-293, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering
Phone: 780 492 5813
Email: david.zhu@ualberta.ca